Ignacio Acosta, 2020

Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis

born 1976 in Chile; lives and works in London


Biography

Ignacio Acosta is a Chilean-born, London-based artist and researcher who explores places made vulnerable through the exploitation of ecologies by colonial intervention and intensive capitalisation. He works with interconnected research projects that involve extensive fieldwork, investigative analysis, audio-visual documentation, and critical writing on sites and materials of symbolic significance. Acosta focuses on resistance against the extractivist industrial impact on valuable natural environments and, through technologies of seeing, enables the generation of meaningful visual and spatial narratives. His interventions position geological and technological forms, as well as human and non-human relationships, in the same landscape. Situated within the urgent need for artistic approaches to critically address the depleting landscapes created by mining, Acosta’s work creatively negotiates the conflicts buried within our living world.

Over the last ten years, he has been devoted to understanding sites and landscapes that, although often neglected, are of global significance: places under pressure from extractive activity in South America and Europe. His most recent works explore the possibilities of drone technologies as tools of resistance within the struggle for decolonisation. Drones are best known for their role in military surveillance; by artistically appropriating these machines, Acosta offers new ways of seeing ecology and counteraction on a planetary scale. Both ideologically, and aesthetically, strategic juxtapositions are a key feature in his visually complex pieces. Yet it is the research practice that underpins his artistic work. 

Through thorough, investigative, and ethical practices, his meth-odology is akin to a forensic investigator in his desire to uncover and expose highly ambivalent power dynamics. Moreover, the multiple layers that comprise his individual research process contribute to larger, dynamic collaborations with activists, artists, scientists, writers, and Indigenous Peoples. Collaboration is a particularly important, indeed essential, part of his investigation and representation of the sites on which he works. His research is distributed through exhibitions, public events, publications, and online platforms. At a time of uncertain futures, Acosta’s presentations remain open-ended and can be used as a source for education, activism, and visual culture. 

In 2016, he completed a PhD at the University of Brighton as part of Traces of Nitrate, a research project he developed in collaboration with art and design historian Louise Purbrick and photographer Xavier Ribas, which was funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC). In 2018, the publication that stems from his PhD Copper Geographies was published by Editorial RM. In 2017, he received a Research and Development Award and a Project Realisation Award from the Hasselblad Foundation / Valand Academy, Sweden, as part of the Drone Vision project led by Dr Sarah Tuck. In 2019, he received an award from the Arts Council England for his exhibition Tales from the Crust at Arts Catalyst, London, and in 2020, he received the ZF Art Foundation Scholarship.

All biographical information was written at the time of the grant and does not claim to be up to date. For more information, please visit the artists' websites, if available and listed here.

Ignacio Acosta, 2020

Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis
Seitenverhältnis

geboren 1976 in Chile; lebt und arbeitet in London


Vita

Der in Chile geborene und in London ansässige Künstler und Forscher Ignacio Acosta beschäftigt sich mit Orten, deren Ökosysteme von kolonialer Intervention und intensiver Ausbeutung gezeichnet sind. Seine Arbeit basiert auf vernetzten Projekten, die sich aus ausgiebiger Feldforschung, investigativer Analyse, audiovisueller Dokumentation und kritischen Texten zu symbolträchtigen Orten und Materialien zusammensetzen. In Opposition zur Rohstoffwirtschaft und ihren Auswirkungen auf wertvolle natürliche Lebensräume generiert ­Acosta mit Technologien des Sehens sinnstiftende visuelle und räumliche Erzählungen. Seine Interventionen positionieren geologische und technologische Formen sowie menschliche und nicht-menschliche Beziehungen in einer Landschaft. Angesiedelt im Bereich der dringend notwendigen kritischen Positionen in der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit abgewirtschafteten Landschaften, verhandelt Acostas Werk die in unserer Lebenswelt vergrabenen Konflikte auf kreative Art und Weise.

Die letzten zehn Jahre widmete der Künstler der Erschließung oft vernachlässigter, aber global relevanter Orte und Landschaften: Gebiete in Südamerika und Europa unter dem Druck der Rohstoffgewinnung. Seine jüngsten Arbeiten erforschen die Möglichkeiten der Drohnentechnologien als Widerstandsmittel im Kampf für Dekolonialisierung. Durch die künstlerische Aneignung dieser vorrangig aus der militärischen Überwachung bekannten Maschinen, bietet Acosta einen neuen planetarischen Blick auf Ökologie und Widerstand. Strategische Gegenüberstellungen sind ideologisch wie ästhetisch ein Hauptmerkmal seiner visuell komplexen Werke. 

Sein künstlerisches Schaffen fußt jedoch auf seiner Forschungspraxis. Im Bestreben, höchst ambivalente Machtdynamiken aufzudecken und bloßzustellen, gleicht Acostas Methodologie mit ihren investigativen und ethischen Praktiken der eines forensischen Ermittlers. Zudem fördert sein vielschichtiger individueller Forschungsprozess größere dynamische Kollaborationen mit Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Autor*innen und indigenen Völkern. Bei der Untersuchung und Darstellung der Orte aus seinem Blickwinkel spielt Zusammenarbeit eine Hauptrolle. Verbreitet werden seine Forschungen über Ausstellungen, öffentliche Veranstaltungen und Online-Plattformen. In ungewissen Zeiten bleiben Acostas Präsentationen unbefristet und dienen als Quelle der Vermittlung, des Aktivismus und der visuellen Kultur.

2016 promovierte Acosta an der University of Brighton im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts Traces of Nitrate, eine vom Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) unterstützte Kollaboration mit der Kunst- und Designhistorikerin Louise Purbrick und dem Fotografen Xavier Ribas. 2018 erschien bei Editorial RM die aus seiner Doktorarbeit Copper Geographies hervorgegangene Publikation. 2017 erhielt er den Research and Development Award sowie den Project Realisation Award von der Hasselblad Foundation / Valand Academy, Schweden, als Teil des Drone Vision Projekts unter der Leitung von Dr. Sarah Tuck. 2019 wurde seine Ausstellung Tales from the Crust im Arts Catalyst vom Arts Council England ausgezeichnet und 2020 erlangte er das Stipendium der ZF Kunststiftung.

Alle biografischen Angaben wurden zum Zeitpunkt des Stipendiums verfasst und haben keinen Anspruch auf Aktualität. Für nähere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte die Webseiten der Künstler:innen, sofern vorhanden und hier aufgeführt.